Dave Hudson

David started his sailing career racing International Cadets in 1959.

He has held 20 SA Championship titles in eight dinghy and keelboat classes, and has represented SA in the Admiral's Cup (1975), the Olympic Games (1992), and in 17 World Championships in which he won 1 silver and 3 bronze medals.

He has won the Lipton Cup for Royal Cape Yacht Club three times, and his international wins include Cork Week 2008, the Laser SB3 EuroCup 2009, Cowes Week J109 Class in 2010, and UK Laser SB3 National Championships in 2010.

His awards include Springbok Colours six times between 1971 & 1984, State President's Sport Merit Award 1981, SAS Gordon Burn-Wood Trophy - Meritorious service to sailing 1996, and SAS Owen Aisher Trophy - Yachtsman of the Year 1981, 2008, and 2009.

Having been actively involved youth training and coaching over many decades David is a co-founder and patron of the Zeekoevlei Training Centre, and co-founder and chairman of the RaceAhead Foundation.

He is a World Sailing International Judge and convenor of the SA Sailing Appeals Committee.